Day 9 Changing your personal reality

Joe Campbell “the profligate of a lifetime is being who you are” “The present moment is the only constant we have” – Oprah Being grateful for who you are and honor that. You are the author of your own life story. No one else can live your story. Be gracious to yourself. We have so much power over our own lives. How many of us actually believe that? I know for a long time I didn’t. I thought I had to take life as it was handed to me and that was my cross to bare. Then certain events took place in my life. I have a wonderful friend who wasn’t afraid to shake me and say hey your wings are being clipped, you are not being who you are. I see you hiding and it pisses me off. The truth is, it pissed me off as well. I was living a lie, a lie that someone else had made for me. A lie someone else had placed on me and I was dying. The real me, the unique me was dying. The light that was given to me was dimishing all because I wasn’t being who I was created to be. We all have childhood stories of things that chip away at who we are. Mine are no different than yours except I was able to fight and keep my light glowing bright until later in life. I always felt like it was my duty to help others shine and lower my light. What a pack of lies that was! We only hurt ourselves by living another’s persons life. Thankfully, I had someone in my life who wasn’t afraid to say , “hey what’s going on here.” That was the catalyst for change in my life. The other day! I spoke to a friend and I told them don’t waste time on people who don’t get you. If you comprise to the point where you don’t recognize yourself something is wrong. Now, I’m not talking about changing for the better of course, we want to be in relationships that do that for us. But if you are making your light smaller so someone else’s can shine and they are ok with that RUN AWAY from that person because they are light suckers! They haven’t found out who they are yet or they don’t love themselves enough to be able to have light around them and stand out with their own light. The older I get, the more in love with myself I become. No, not in an unhealthy way, but just not being afraid of what makes me who I am. I am fearfully and wonderfully made! I have as much right to a seat at the table as anyone else! Now that I know who I am and I’m living my truth so many doors are opening for me. This is something that one can truly be grateful for because when you know who you are, you are able to stand in your truth unapologetically and be able to invite others to partake with you. When we know who we are as individuals that is when we can build honest communities because everyone knows their role and there is no need to clash. What are your thoughts on loving yourself?

3 thoughts on “Day 9 Changing your personal reality

Leave a Reply

