Oprah & Chopra Meditation Day 4 Experience

Grace is replying

I know for me this is true.

What does it mean to be present? What does it mean to be aware?

For me it’s very simple. It means focusing your mind onto whatever it is you are doing at the moment. Not trying to break up your attention among many things but being able in gratitude to be fully present in the moment.

I have a confession. Today I didn’t honor my routine. I, like many of us, have a routine that I do everyday. When I wake up, I began my day in prayer and silence. After that I greet my daughter and we listen to our daily Torah portion. I make myself either tea or coffee depending on my mood and than I sit in my favorite chair in direct sunlight and began my meditation. However, today I didn’t do that and boy oh boy did I pay for it! I could tell right off the bat I was having trouble . On a phone call with a friend I couldn’t seem to think as fast as I normally do. My mental focus was off. I rushed around running errands but I wasn’t fully present and I felt like I and everyone I encountered could tell something was off. By the time I got home in the late afternoon, early evening I had a migraine. In that moment of pain I knew I needed to go and take my rest, gather my thoughts and do my meditation. By this time my migraine was causing me to close my eyes so I laid down on my bed and pressed play. Immediately, a sense of calm came over me and as I let my mind relax and gathered myself in that quiet moment. I felt my body relax and the pain slipping away. I was in this moment of stillness,fully present fully aware, and truly blessed by this free gift and I knew what I was thankful for. After I meditated I was able to be fully present and aware with my daughter and that was a gift for her. I wish more people would adapt this practice of just taking a few moments each day to relax and be fully present.

Did grace reply? I think so and yes it is flowing back to me and in return I am able to flow it to others.

3 thoughts on “Oprah & Chopra Meditation Day 4 Experience

Leave a Reply

