Domestic Violence…. No excuse for abuse!

I knew exactly which comment and blog I would use for the assignment.
I came across this blog https://joicelizsabeth.wordpress.com/2015/03/31/fear-at-financial-abuse/, and my heart sank. I was compelled to leave a comment of GET OUT now and let the blogger know that G-d doesn’t condone abuse.

After I left the comment my mind raced with thoughts of, Is that for real? If so how did her husband not know about the blog? Is there something we as a community could do?

Others had left comments and some interacted with this blogger but do we know if the person is ok?

Abuse is a very personal, shameful experience that no one on this planet should ever have to endure. That blog touched me as a woman because many of us either know other women that experience abuse or we ourselves have. I consider myself to be an advocate for women. I applaud whoever is on the other side of that blog for speaking out but I wanted to tell them it’s not enough to speak out and stay. Love doesn’t hurt and if it does it’s not love. I have to be honest, there was a small part of me that was hoping that it was fake because I can only imagine what that person is living in.

I’m happy about today’s assignment because it will highlight a topic that is never easy to talk about but needs to be an ongoing conversation until every women or girl feels safe in this world and things like that aren’t allowed. If you or anyone you know is being abused please don’t stay silent. Many times the victims of abuse are too ashamed to speak out and most of the time they are conflicted with intense feelings of guilt and shame. The abuser is most always a great manipulator and able to convince the victim that there is no place for them to go. It is a vicious cycle that can be very hard to get out of. But the first step is being brave enough to admit to yourself you are in a toxic situation and seek help.

Here is the link for the National Domestic Abuse Hotline
http://www.thehotline.org

5 thoughts on “Domestic Violence…. No excuse for abuse!

  1. Oh my, that post was most definitely hard to read. I hope she’s in a better place now…there hasn’t been an update. Thanks for sharing this, I’m hoping she will reach out if she can. That type of treatment is just horrible and no one deserves that. That’s why I blog about things like that…it’s just heart wrenching to say the least.

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

