Meditation Day 2 Gratitude is within…

Today’s meditation theme is “Gratitude is within you. “
This is a powerful statement because it reminds us that we have power over us, our feelings and actions. All good things bring Gratitude. My faith is Messianic and so my source of divine inspiration always comes from the sacred text known as the Bible. Today’s meditation made me refer to these bible passages :

Romans 8:28 For we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God and are called according to His purpose.

James 1:17 every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shifting shadow
Philippians 4:8 Finally brethren, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, think on these things.
The Divine has always known what is best for man and that is why the Bible instructed us long ago to meditate day and night upon those words. I exercise an ancient Hebrew practice known as Mussar and basically it is all about awareness and mindfulness. Gratitude is a part of that ancient practice. As a matter of fact, gratitude is a part of most ancient practices. Many times we think that we in the modern day have evolved highly above our ancient ancestors. However, it is my belief that they had life figured out as a whole sometimes much better than us. They weren’t afraid to set aside time in order to receive.

Today’s meditation was very healing for me. I got the visual of my hand reaching out and a hand extending to me. I quickly understood this as a sign of the principal of gratitude. One cannot experience gratitude without giving and receiving. When we express gratitude, we open the door to receive more to be grateful about.

Again I was deeply relaxed and I noticed my other senses were heightened. My hearing became thankful for the sound of the water moving around in my aero garden. My nose became thankful for the aroma of coffee and the gentle scents of my essential oils. My eyes, even though they were closed, became thankful for the rest they received and the colors of lights that flashed in the darkness of my eyes being shut.

If you have joined the experience, you know with everyday’s meditation there is a journal that asks 4 questions. I will only put one here out of respect for the beautiful website that was created for this and the people that worked hard to prepare this free of charge for all that choose to participate.

The question that really resonated with me today was this: ” Describe three qualities about yourself that you are most grateful for? “

Many times we express gratefulness for those around us which is a right thing to do. How often do we take a moment to be thankful for things about ourselves? I don’t think it’s selfish to be grateful for your own unique qualities. I think it is a way of getting to know yourself and expressing a unique divine love for yourself. We all know if we can’t love ourselves first we cannot offer that gift (of love) to others. The divine grace is love. Love of the Divine, than ourselves, than those around us and etc.

We are only two days in and already I can feel my mind and heart expanding on the many things in this life to be grateful for.

Here is my gift to you today. A song about being grateful for the divine. Enjoy! 😉
Grateful by H. Walker

2 thoughts on “Meditation Day 2 Gratitude is within…

Leave a Reply

